The NDIA Board of Directors manages the business and affairs of NDIA-DVC, and is comprised of the following officers and directors:

President Joe Welsh

Mr. Welsh serves Rhoads Industries in the role of Federal, State and Local Government relations and human capital development. Mr. Welsh is an attorney, strategic consultant, and educator who delivers integrated solutions for businesses and supports regional, national and international business with a focus on economic and workforce development.   He also serves as president of the Delaware Valley Chapter of the National Defense Industrial Association In addition he serves on the board of Philly SHRM as Senior Policy Fellow.

Mr. Welsh teaches business law at the Fox School of Business at Temple University and is a member of the Legal Studies Department.  He also teaches graduate courses Education Law at Gwynedd Mercy Universities and Gratz College.

Mr. Welsh holds a Juris Doctor from Temple University where he also served as a Research Fellow in International Law and he holds an MBA from Philadelphia University.


Vice President Paul Trenholm

Through a twenty (25+) year career in the Defense Industry, my experience has ranged from working for one of the Navy’s commercial shipyards – Ingalls Shipbuilding, expanding the Navy business within one of the US Defense Primes – Curtiss Wright, to most recently stepping in as owner and President of a Small Business – Derbyshire Machine & Tool Co. a manufacturer of Navy valves, strainers, eductors, and fluid control systems in Philadelphia.

BACKGROUND

Focus over the last 15 years has been on the Business Development of Advanced Valve Technologies for Navy Shipbuilding applications to enable cost reduction by reduced manning and maintenance by incorporating higher levels of automation and materials. Scope of responsibilities included:
• International Business Development
• Congressional Outreach
• RDT&E coordination with DoD SBIR (Small Business Innovation Research) firms

PERSONAL

Bachelor of Science Degree 1977, Rider University Lawrenceville NJ

Memberships include:
* Board of Directors – National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) Delaware Valley Chapter
*ACIBC & SIBC Aircraft Carrier & Submarine Industrial Base Coalitions
* Navy League SE Pennsylvania Chapter
* American Society of Naval Engineers
* Marine Machinery Association – Navy Shipboard Equipment Manufacturers
* Board of Directors( 2005-2015) – Philadelphia Ship Preservation Guild – Historic Tall Ship “Gazela”
* Served on Commissioning Committees for USS Michael Murphy, USS Somerset, & USS Murtha


Treasurer Tom Harris

Dr. Harris earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Science Engineering from the University of Michigan (Go Blue!), and Master of Science and Doctorate degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.     Dr. Harris has performed research and development for a wide range of high-performance air vehicles, including space recovery vehicles, defense interceptors, maneuvering reentry vehicles, and launch vehicles.   He also has a demonstrated track record in management and business development.

Dr. Harris began his career with General Electric in the Reentry Systems Division, where he was responsible for the aerodynamic design of maneuvering reentry vehicles.   In 1977, he joined Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC), where he developed computational fluid dynamic (CFD) models and managed numerous supersonic wind tunnel test programs.

In 1996 Dr. Harris was promoted to Assistant Vice President and Division Manager of the Fluid Sciences Division.   During his leadership the Division executed a number of high visibility programs, including long range projectiles for the Navy, a miniature exoatmospheric kill vehicle for the Missile Defense Agency, and Japan’s HOPE-X unmanned shuttle program.   His customers included the U.S. Air Force, DARPA, the Missile Defense Agency, U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command, U. S. Navy, and the CIA.

In 2008 Dr. Harris established Valley Forge Scientific, LLC.  He currently teaches aerodynamics at Villanova University.


 

Officers
President 1 Joseph Welsh, Esq., Attorney at Law josephpwelsh@gmail.com
1st Vice President 2 Paul Trenholm, Derbyshire Machine & Tool, Philadelphia PA pt@derbyshiremachine.com
Secretary 3 Brian Gocial, Esq., Partner, Blank Rome LLP gocial@blankrome.com
Treasurer 4 Thomas Harris, Valley Forge Scientific, Philadelphia PA tbharrisphd@gmail.com
Directors 1 Anthony DeMarco, PRICE Systems, Mt Laurel NJ anthony.demarco@pricesystems.com
2 Daniel Rhoads Jr., Rhoads Industries Inc., Philadelphia PA d2@rhoadsinc.com
3 Paul Welsh, Analytical Graphics Inc., Exton PA pwelsh@agi.com
4 James A. Donahue, Strategic Management Consulting, Richboro PA jadonahue@rcn.com
5 Pat Woody Reeves, PWR Consulting, Philadelphia PA patricia.c.reeves@comcast.net
6 Robert Coates, L-3 SPD Electrical Systems, Philadelphia PA Robert.Coates@L-3com.com
7 Alan J. Criswell, American Competitive Institute, Philadelphia PA criswell@aciusa.org
8 Jane Lowenstein, JanBara Associates, Conshohocken, PA jlowenstein@janbara.com
9 C. Randy Reeves, Life Cycle Engineering (LCE), Philadelphia PA rreeves@lce.com
10 Bill Eckerle, EHS Technologies, Moorestown NJ beckerle@ehstech.net
11 Eileen Mulvena, NDI Engineering Co. emulvena@ndieng.com
12 Kathy Reynolds, Triman Industries, West Berlin, NJ paul@trimanindustries.com
13 Sam Thevanayagam, Parts For Life Inc., Cinnaminson, NJ sam@partslifeinc.com
14 Juan R. Peñalver, Lockheed Martin Mission Systems and Training (MST) juan.penalver@lmco.com
15 Mark Mortenson, General Resonance mmortenson@generalresonance.com
16 Dave Henderson, Mission1st, Princeton NJ dhenderson@mission1st.com
17 Robert Shafer RTShafer@3rdcontracting.com
18 Irene H Katacinski, NSWC (Ret), Philadelphia, PA irenekatacinski@gmail.com
19 David Shaffer, Kreischler Miller, Horsham PA DShaffer@kmco.com
20 Jari Antilla, Philadelphia Shipyard, Philadelphia PA Jari.Anttila@phillyshipyard.com
21 Phil Jaurigue, Sabre Systems, Warrington, PA pjaurigue@sabresystems.com
22 Bill North, Rhoads Industries, Inc., Philadelphia PA bnorth@rhoadsinc.com
23 Marco Digabriele, Boeing Company, Ridley Park, PA marco.digabriele@boeing.com
24 Tamela Kozior tamela.kozior@androsysinc.com
25 Bill Sunnick Jr., Leonardo Helicopter billsunickjr@gmail.com
Honorary 1 John J. Mulhern, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia PA
Directors 2 William Swahl, Colony Consulting, Woolwich Township, NJ
3 Francis M. Walton, NDI Engineering Co., Thorofare NJ
4 Thomas U. Siegenthaler, RADM USN (Ret.), NDI Engineering Co.
5 Joe Hare, Rhoads Industries Inc., Huntingdon Valley PA